Lamma Island

Every now and then I am traveling to Hong Kong. I have to see my eye doctor regularly, I still do all my banking there, and it’s a great place to shop. Besides I have some good friends there, and it’s always good to be away from mainland China for a few days.

One of my friends is living on Lamma island, one of Hong Kong’s outlying islands. He offered me to stay in his house for the weekend. Lamma, also known as ‘Pok Liu Chau’, is the third largest island in Hong Kong. The population is about 10,000. A lot of people live here, and work on Hong Kong island, as the cost of housing is considerably lower on Lamma.

There are ferry services from the Outlying Islands Ferry Pier No. 4 in Central on Hong Kong Island to Yung Shue Wan and Sok Kwu Wan. The ferry takes about 30 minutes. There are also ferries to and from Aberdeen on Hong Kong Island.

lammamap.gif

My friend lives in Yung Shue Wan in a beautiful house with a roof terrace overlooking the bay on one side, and the hills on the other. There are two very good seafood restaurants in Yung Shue Wan. My favourite is Man Fung Seafood Restaurant. The ‘lobster in cheese sauce’ they are serving, is the best I ever had.

800px-yung_shue_wan_from_the_ferry_pier.jpg

yung-shue-wan-bay.jpg

man-fung.jpg

Next to the restaurant is the Island Bar with it’s friendly manager Kumar. A great place to have a good time and meet the locals.

island-bar.jpg

On Lamma you don’t have the feeling you are in Hong Kong. It reminds me more of some places in the Caribbean, or on the North shore of some of the Hawaiian islands.

Lamma also has a few nice beaches, and is great for hiking and fishing. I am already looking forward to my next stay, hopefully soon.

About Stranded Mariner

Marine Engineer and passionate sailor and cruiser, working in the marine business in China.
This entry was posted in Hong Kong, Island tales, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

