Getting the Stranded Mariner afloat again.

After many months, if not years, of thinking and talking about it, I have finally made up my mind. I am going to have a sailing boat built. Big enough to live on, and use as my future home. But also not too big to handle by myself.

I have chosen for the Dix 43, with a steel hull and centre cockpit, designed by Dudley Dix Yacht Design. I like steel hulls, because they are easy to maintain and repair, without needing sophisticated tools and methods. I don’t mind the extra weight, as speed is not really an issue for the cruising that I have in mind. The centre cockpit allows for a good view in all directions, important when cruising and maneuvering alone. Also it lets me build a nice big cabin aft, in addition to the 2 possible double cabins ahead. I will sacrifice one of the cabins ahead to build a little workshop and storage room.

The Dix 43 is a radius chine steel cutter with the following main dimensions:

LOA 13.35m, LWL 11.87m, Beam 4.10m, Draft 1.80m

Displacement 14.3 tons, ballast 4000kg. Sail area (Main + Fore-triangle) 91.44 m2

dix43banwell1.jpg dix43banwell3.jpgdix43banwell4.jpg

I am still looking for a place to build her, preferably in China, Vietnam, or Thailand.

Also I am considering a number of modifications to the hull, and I am making a ‘wish list’ of how I want to do the outfitting. I hope to be able to start in the second half of 2008. I expect the hull construction to take about 3 months, and the outfitting another 9 -12 months. I will regularly report on the progress here.

About Stranded Mariner

Marine Engineer and passionate sailor and cruiser, working in the marine business in China.
This entry was posted in Boats and boating, Dix 43 project. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting the Stranded Mariner afloat again.

  1. Pingback: The first step. « Stranded on the Largest Island

  2. Impressive web page:-))
    Thanks for mentioning me and my website (www.steelboatbuilder) and the link. I hope you will have great success with your project and feel free to contact me with any info you may need on building your boat’

    My best regards
    Wynand

  3. Thanks Wynand! I learned a lot from your very informative website. I am sure I will take you up on your offer.

    All the best!

Leave a Reply

