Storm survival.

Much has been written about storm survival tactics, and much of it is about the different systems of sea anchors. Sea anchors have the function to enable the boat to hold position in a storm, and keep the hull in a direction towards the waves to minimize the chance of serious damage due to breaking waves.

There are basically two main schools of thought, each with their own supporters. One camp favours deploying a parachute type sea anchor from the bow, the other system consists of a series of small cones deployed from the stern. I will not go into all the pro’s and cons of either system, but refer to the website of Melbourne based Bryan Glover, where this series drogue system has been documented in detail.

I will buy a series drogue system for ‘Waratah’ from Bryan, once I am ready to sail. The system for my boat will consist of 139 nylon cones, spread out over almost 100 meters.

I asked Bryan to send me something for my blog, and he was kind enough to write this article about his own boat ‘Asgard’.

I bought Asgard in May 2000, she is a sloop rigged 28ft Swanson, 10 ft
beam with a 20Hp Bukh diesel, built in Sydney in 1982, 18mm fiber glass,
built like a tank. Asgard was in Sydney and I planned on sailing her
home to Melbourne, the route was much the same as the 1998 Syd – Hobart
disaster except I would turn right into Bass Strait and follow the 40deg
south line. I had some dingy sailing experience but no blue water, and
since I intended going solo I needed something to stop my eye from
twitching.
Voss, and David Lewis “Ice Bird” relied on drogues as do retired old
salts you find mumbling obscenities in boat yards, problem fixed, heavy
warps, or large cone or Delta drogue or drogue chute or para drogue or
Galerider or tires or drogue stones, they all have vocal supporters
which is perplexing because like all single unit devices logic dictates
the tow line will go slack when the vessel is in a tough, or pull out of
the face of a wave and kill you (RNLI life boat team) or tumble forward
in a breaking wave causing slack in the line and possible broach.
Trucking from Sydney was even money, until I read the US Coast guard
report CG-D-20-87 all about the series drogue and its ability to save a
vessel in a once in a life time wave strike, this put a spring in my
step, my eye began to perform as designed and I started eating again.
The Jordan U.S. coast guard report told me for Asgard’s 4500
Displacement I needed a 100 cone series drogue, with a 10 to 15 kg
weight on the end that would sink when the vessel was in the trough of a
wave preventing slack developing in the line. I would travel through the
storm at 0.5 to 6 knots averaging 1.5 knots. The drag produced by the
drogue would be:- Volume (0.27) x no of cones x speed in knots Squared =
drag in lbs

@ 1 knot drag = 12 kgs
@ 2 Knots drag = 48 kgs
@ 3 Knots drag = 108 kgs
@ 5 Knots grag = 300 kgs
@ 6 Knots drag = 432 kgs
@ 10 Knots drag = 1200 kgs
@ 15 Knots drag = 2700 kgs

Donald Jordans research and development of the drogue giving specific
data which allows us to construct drag to a given displacement, not
relying on a single unit, but spreading the stress loads over 100 or
more units was survival poetry.
I had a wonderful sail home, nearly hit by a ship off Port Kembla, blown
semi out of control into Jervis Bay, ran aground in mud at Eden, spent 3
nights at Refuge cove Wilsons Prom, managed to pump all 200 liters of
fresh water into the bilge, ran out of gas, spent 5 blissful nights
sheltered behind Erith Island in Kent group, fishing, reading, cooking
on the beach and exploring this uninhabited Bass Strait island group.
When I glided into my berth in Melbourne and tied up I felt blissful, I
had completed a journey, overcome a fear. I didn’t have to use the
drogue on that trip but I had in my own way.

Last but not least I want to share this picture about Bryan’s special ‘dry-testing’ method for series drogues.

About Stranded Mariner

Marine Engineer and passionate sailor and cruiser, working in the marine business in China.
This entry was posted in Boats and boating, Dix 43 project, Maritime & Navy, Sailing and Cruising. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Storm survival.

  1. Pingback: jordan series drogue

  2. Hello everybody, here every one is sharing such experience, thus it’s good to read
    this website, and I used to go to see this web site everyday.

  3. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same
    comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

  4. hcg diet says:

    For example, many garlic salts have garlic oil in them–an ingredient known to
    stop weight loss on HCG. The increase will remain even after you have stopped using the hormone.

    Some have seen an immediate weight loss, calling this a “miracle” diet.

  5. Très apprécié, Beaucoup d’info utile.

  6. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and
    without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.

    The problem is something that too few folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy I stumbled across this during my hunt for something relating to this.

  7. Today signifies the beginning of the initial Sonic Splash concern that is global.
    But what does this require and the way can you participate?

  8. Marcel says:

    No dog owner learn to not want to do it? Ensure that you puppy training never really stop.
    One of the American pop culture. Try to choose a
    company that understands how to respond to such abuse, separation anxiety by
    destroying things, drool all over complete strangers
    and not every dog owner severe headaches and
    some eatables.

  9. Randy says:

    But it will go back several years ago, but the kids are at
    the owner’s side when he’s being walked on a loose leash and collar training.
    He should be allowed and often guest speakers, pet waste removal, dog
    training. Instead of keeping it as part of your pet puppy training
    to behave. The efficiency of this would be engrained in their loving homes.
    The same puppy training holds true of your pets with gentleness and respect.
    Although there are some issues that will only get hurt or punished.

  10. Tracie says:

    The restore process can take a whilst, so don’t sweat it.
    If you are unlocking as nicely, QuickPwn will inquire you
    to find two “bootloaders”. This is the place you will
    get the great component of the technique.

  11. I pay a quick visit daily a few web pages and information sites
    to read posts, except this blog offers feature based content.

  12. Subscribe to our weekly wallpaper publication and receive the week”s top 10 most downloaded wallpapers. You can view a sample right here fiction art.

  13. We wish a divine intervention, an instantaneous alternative.
    Why? Because it is their energy that’s your ali. It is also superior
    to transfer your vision upwards. Abrams has managed
    to prove us all quite wrong.

  14. Lawrence says:

    If you are going for most excellent contents like myself,
    just pay a quick visit this web site all the time for
    the reason that it gives feature contents, thanks

  15. Piece of writing writing is also a excitement, if you know
    afterward you can write if not it is complicated to write.

  16. It is also supposed to encourage your hypothalamus to “reset”
    your system’s metabolic process making it easier for you to digest
    and process the foods that you eat. Pour into sterile fifty percent-pint jars, seal, and cool.
    For those instances, a buddy may provide support when necessary.

  17. Shannon says:

    After looking at a few of the articles on your web site,
    I seriously appreciate your way of blogging. I book-marked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Take a look at my web site too and tell me how
    you feel.

  18. Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this
    web page, because i wish for enjoyment, since this this site conations genuinely pleasant funny data too.

  19. Leonor says:

    At this time it sounds like Movable Type is the top blogging platform available right now.

    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  20. whatsapp on pc is able to import your contacts from email, and your number.
    However, some people would also like to use it on their Windows or Macintosh computer systems.

  21. An advantage to this application is that it functions flawlessly and
    rarely/never crashes. Following that, the Kindle Fire Utility is proven again and there will be a number of choices at your disposal.

Leave a Reply

