Getting started

Had a productive day yesterday. First I took all of the old exhaust hose and ductings out. Then refitted my water heater, which was installed and connected the wrong way. Placed all stanchion posts, and prepared everything to commission my dinghy and outboard engine. The hotel where I am staying is right opposite the marina. And it’s much easier to commute from there to the yard and back every day by boat. Plus I save 200 Rand on taxi’s every day.

Then today I will finish the list of all materials and equipment I still have to buy. Also the work on my hull will start today. All the epoxy coal tar which did not cure properly will have to be sanded off. I have the zinc anodes already. Also the paint needs to be ordered today.

The mast builder dropped by as well yesterday, and we went through the schedule. We will launch the boat first, and step the mast with the boat in the water. That way its is easier to adjust everything properly, when the hull is supported by water. On the hard the hull shape is always different because the hull is supported in certain spots only instead of evenly.

About Stranded Mariner

Marine Engineer and passionate sailor and cruiser, working in the marine business in China.
This entry was posted in Boats and boating, Dix 43 project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

